About the Legal Research Foundation

The Legal Research Foundation is an independent, non-profit organisation associated with the Faculty of Law at the University of Auckland. The AGM booklet for the current year's AGM provides more information. The AGM provides a social opportunity to get together with like-minded members of the legal profession.

At the LRF's 50th anniversary dinner in 2015, Hon Michael Kirby AC delivered a speech celebrating the LRF's achievements. Hon Michael Kirby is an Honorary Fellow of the LRF.

The purpose of the LRF is to promote legal research and education in New Zealand and we achieve this in several ways.

The LRF publishes the New Zealand Law Review, New Zealand's leading law review. The Review is published quarterly, and is contributed to by leading legal scholars drawn from the academic and professional community in New Zealand. The LRF holds occasional Masterclass lectures given by Review authors throughout the year.

In addition, the Foundation organises conferences on topical issues for the legal community, invests in a visiting scholar programme in association with the Faculty of Law at the University of Auckland, and sponsors the Legal Research Foundation Annual Writing Awards, announced at the LRF's AGM. 


Follow Legal Research Foundation on LinkedIn

Follow Legal Research Foundation on Facebook

This is my image

LRF Executive Council

  • President

    Hon Justice Simon Moore

  • Director

    Simon Ladd

  • Executive Secretary

    Julia Clancy

  • Dean of Law, University of Auckland

    Professor Penelope Mathew

  • District Court Representative

    Judge Mary-Beth Sharp

  • Department of Commercial Law, University of Auckland

    Associate Professor Benjamin Liu

  • Publications Chair

    Associate Professor Bernard Brown

  • Editor New Zealand Law Review

    Michael Littlewood

    Dr Edward Willis

  • Student Members

    Lina Kim

    Gauri Prabhakar

  • Co-opted Members

    John Hannan

    Matt Sumpter

    Gareth Kayes

    Robin McCoubrey

    Professor Craig Elliffe

    Simon Mount QC

    Kirsten Massey

    Sarah Keene

    Caroline Foster